Bookmarks 2010 winners showcase growth, vibrancy of SA online media

Agencies, publishers and individuals that excelled in South Africa’s online media landscape were recognised at a glamorous awards ceremony for the Bookmarks held at Brio, Cape Town on 18 November.

A who’s who of South Africa’s online and media industries gathered to pay tribute to the country’s online achievers at this slick event.

The Pixel winners in this year’s Bookmarks were chosen from a field of more than 400 entries across 43 categories. They represent a mixture of household names and emerging talents in South Africa’s digital landscape.

The Bookmarks awards is the country’s platform for recognising excellence in the online space.

“This was the biggest Bookmarks to date – with more categories and entries than ever before. The judges were impressed with the excellent standard of the entries they received this year across all of the categories,” says Nikki Cockcroft, chairperson of the Bookmarks awards and deputy-chair of the Digital Media and Marketing Association (DMMA), which organises the awards. “Gold Pixels were awarded in certain publishing categories – testimony to the growth of our industry as well as the rising quality of the work being produced.”

The gold winners in the publisher categories were:

· Publishing Website – News24
· Specialist Digital Publisher – Miningmix
· Mixed-Media Project – Dstv Online’s Big Brother Africa All Stars
· Microsite – Mail & Guardian’s Madiba Tribute Site
· Use of Video/Audio: Cambrient – The Digital Edge
· Both Worlds – ZANEWS

Winners in the publisher individuals and teams included:
· Editorial Team: The Daily Maverick
· Digital Advertising Sales team: Habari Media
· Digital Editorial Individual: David McKay –

The winners in the agency categories were:
· Best integrated campaign – Ogilvy Interactive for Goodbye Citi
· Best paid search campaign – Clicks2Customers for EziBuy

The following individual agency awards were given:
· Best Social Media Marketer – Scott Gray of Quirk
· Best Paid Search Marketer – Michele Clark of Clicks2Customers
· Best Display Marketer – Andre Britz – Quirk

The gold awards for best client and best agency were awarded to Pick ‘n Pay and Clicks2Customers respectively. Yannick Pian of Red & Yellow was awarded Best Student for the Lucky Star Pilchards website.

The Greatest Individual Contribution to Digital Media & Marketing prize was awarded to Adrian Hewlett (Habari).

For more 2010 Bookmarks awards information, visit

The premier sponsors of the 2010 Bookmarks awards are the BBC, ADTECH and Facebook.



Agency Winners 
Best Website – Sponsored by The Spacestation
Bronze Clickthinking Don’t be a Passenger
 Best e-Commerce Website – Sponsored by Avusa Media Live
Bronze Yuppiechef
 Best Campaign / Microsite – Sponsored by Kuier
Bronze Draftfcb Mesh Nowology Hosted Services
Bronze Stonewall+ Hot New Spark
Silver Ogilvy Interactive & HelloComputer Goodbye Citi
 Best Mobile Site – Sponsored by You
Bronze Prezence Digital Standard Bank Student Loan Application
Silver Trigger Isobar Nike Football Mxit Group
 Best Display: Rich Media – Sponsored by Digitalmark
Bronze Aqua Online Gautrain
Silver Gloo Digital Design Night Vision
Silver Gloo Digital Design Camera
 Best Paid Search Campaign 
Silver Clicks2Customers EziBuy
 Best Social Media Campaign  – Sponsored by Huisgenoot
Bronze Clickthinking I am a Stormer
Bronze Gloo Digital Design Love Birds
 Best Integrated Campaign – Sponsored by Drum
Silver Ogilvy Interactive Goodbye Citi
Silver Trigger Isobar Nike Football Integrated Campaign
 Best Online Video – Sponsored by MSN
Bronze Both Worlds “Chicken to Change”
Silver Clickthinking Vodacom Coach Call
 Best Viral Campaign 
Silver Yuppiechef Woolies Lovebirds Ransom
 Best of Agency Show
Ogilvy Interactive Goodbye Citi   Best Integrated
Clicks2Customers EziBuy Best Paid Search Campaign


No awards were awarded in the following categories:

  • Best Mobile App
  • Best Email Marketing Campaign
  • Best Mobile Display
  • Best Organic Search Campaign
  • Best Display Standard Media
  • Best Media Plan


Publisher Winners 
Website launch
Bronze Creative Spark
Silver New Media Publishing
 Publishing site
Bronze FinMedia24
 Specialist Digital Publisher – Sponsored by BDFM
Silver Creative Spark
Gold FinMedia24 Miningmx
 Mixed-Media Project -Sponsored by the Nielsen Company 
Bronze Dstv Online
Silver News24 Digital News Brand
Gold Dstv Online Big Brother Africa All Stars
 Mobile Publisher
Silver Dstv Online
Silver News24 Mobile
Silver Mail & Guardian 2010 microsite
Gold Mail & Guardian Madiba Tribute Site
 Use of Video/Audio (incl. podcasts) – Sponsored by DStvo 
Gold Cambrient The Digital Edge
Gold Both Worlds ZANEWS
 Blog Award 
Bronze FinMedia24 Marc Ashton
Silver Jaundiced Eye Media


Individual  and Team Awards
Individual Agency Awards
Best Social Media Marketer
Scott Gray Quirk
 Best Paid Search Marketer
Michele Clark Clicks2Customers
 Best Display Marketer – Sponsored by The Spacestation
Andre Britz Quirk
 Best Student – Sponsored by Investec 
Yannick Pian   Red & Yellow Website for Lucky Star Pilchards

* No awards in other Individual categories

Individual and Team Publisher Awards
Editorial team
The Daily Maverick
 Digital Advertising Sales team – Sponsored by Isobar
Habari Media
 Digital Editorial Individual
David McKay –
 Best Agency & Best Client 
Best Client
Pick ‘n Pay
 Best Agency – Sponsored by tvplus


Greatest Individual Contribution to Digital Media & Marketing – Sponsored by
Adrian Hewlett – Habari